Dirty Feet

April 18, 2019/Maundy Thursday

John 13:1-35

 

I would be horrified,

if He walked up the center aisle right now,

towel tied around his waist

basin of water in his hands

and knelt at my feet

my feet

with the two dots of leftover polish

on each big toe,

the cracked heels and dry soles.

 

I would be all wrapped up in worry

over how I would look

how He would see me

how my feet would feel to his hands

how they would look to his eyes

how they would smell to his nose

that I wouldn’t even notice the point of it all.

 

The point of it all?

Not that we be washed from head to toe –

you didn’t get it, Peter –

not that we be scrubbed of the dirt of the day

of the transferred dye from cheap shoes

of the body odor from sweat rippling down our backs

in the hot room

that’s not the point, Peter.

The point is,

am I willing to do as He did?

Am I willing to strip away the fancy

remove the decorative

take off the finery

present myself in simple garb

only what is needful

only what will serve

a simple towel

basin of clear water

and hands –

my hands –

to lift each foot tenderly,

pour the water over and catch the drips in the basin,

softly pat the skin dry?

 

Am I willing?

Willing to move from one pair of feet

to the next

to the next

without concern for their

color

shape

smell

size

but to touch each one

with the same loving attention

He showed me?

 

I wonder, sometimes,

sitting in the salon waiting for my nails to dry

how they stand it,

these Vietnamese immigrants,

how they tolerate

the feet that are bared to them each day.

Even for money,

I’m not sure I would be willing.

And He asks – no tells – us,

to wash them,

wash them all.

To love them,

love them all,

just like He did.

Just like He did.

Leave a comment